Committees and Task Forces 2019-2020

IAMCR has various standing committees, task forces, and commissions.

Standing Committees are permanent bodies of the International Council with remits aimed at fulfilling key ongoing tasks within the organisation.

Task Forces or Ad hoc committees are permanent or temporary bodies of the International Council that fulfil other purposes.

Executive Board Commissions are entities that are mandated by the Executive Board to provide support in relation to a particular set of tasks defined by the Executive Board. The Executive Board is accountable towards the International Council for the work of the Commissions.

Standing Committees

  • Election Committee
    Chair: Beate Josephi [contact]
    Members: Robin Mansell, Manuel Pinto

  • Environmental Impact Committee
    Chair: Kerrie Foxwell-Norton [contact]
    Vice-Chair: Robert Hackett
    Members: Anabela Carvalho, Paula Chakravartty, John Downing, Gabi Hadl, Anders Hansen, Richard Maxwell, Toby Miller, Pieter Maeseele, Chris Paterson, Katharine Sarikakis and Jeremy Swartz and Graham Murdock (EB liaison)

  • Finance Committee
    Chair: Elske van de Fliert [contact]
    Members: Beate Josephi, Robin Mansell and Nico Carpentier

  • Legal Committee
    Chair: Philippe Maarek [contact]
    Members: Cees J. Hamelink, Stefania Milan, Friedrich Krotz and Gerard Goggin (EB liaison)

  • Membership Committee
    Chair: Helena Sousa [contact]
    Members: Yik Chan Chin, Olesya Venger, Leah Jerop Komen, Jude William Genilo, Valeria Zamisch (IAMCR Secretariat) and Graham Murdock (EB liaison)

  • Publications Committee
    Chair: Maria Michalis [contact]
    Members: Denize Araujo, Martin Becerra, Marjan de Bruin, Chandrika Kaul, Claudia Padovani, Karin Wilkins, Pradip Thomas and Graham Murdock (EB liaison)

  • Scholarly Review Committee
    Chair: Thomas Jacobson [contact]
    Members: Denize Araujo, Marjan de Bruin, Jo Pierson, Robin Mansell, Kaarle Nordenstreng, John Sinclair and Aimée Vega Montiel

Task Forces

  • Task Force on the Global Alliance for Media and Gender (GAMAG)
    Chair: Aimée Vega Montiel [contact]
    Members: Margaret Gallagher, Carolyn Byerly, Claudia Padovani, Kaitlynn Mendes, Gitiara Nasreen, Lisa McLaughlin

  • Task for on the Global Alliance for Social and Behaviour Change
    Co-chairs: Elske van de Fliert [contact] and Thomas Jacobson [contact]

Executive Board Commissions

  • Conference Committee 2018
    Chair: Gerard Goggin [contact] 
    Members: Elske van de Fliert, Bruce Girard and Janet Wasko; and Gabriela Martinez, Christopher Chavez and Jeremy Swartz (2018 Local Organising Committee)
  • Evaluation Committee for the Section/Working Group and Committee/Task Force funds
    : Elske van de Fliert [contact]
    Members: Kaitlynn Mendes, Sandra Ristovska and Bruce Girard (non-voting member)
  • Fundraising Commission
    Chair: Cees Hamelink [contact]
    Members: Janet Wasko, Elske van de Fliert, Bruce Girard
  • Clearinghouse for Public Statements
    Chair: Robin Mansell
    Members: Eno Akpabio, Martin Becerra, Andrew Calabrese, Lauren Dyll, Flor Enghel, Divina Frau-Meigs, Audrey Gadzekpo, Rodrigo Gomez, Gholam Khiabany, Leah Komen, Graham Murdock, Hillel Nossek, Vinod Pavarala, Sandra Ristovska and Takesato Watanabe
    EB liaison: Janet Wasko
  • Commission on IAMCR History
    Chair: Jörg Becker
    Members: Robin Mansell, Binod Agrawal, Kaarle Nordenstreng, Cees Hamelink, Annabelle Sreberny, Ulla Carlsson and Sandra Ristovska

Award Juries

  • Schiller Award Selection Committee
    : Richard Maxwell
    Members: Helena Sousa, Peichi Chung

  • Smythe Award Selection Committee

  • Stuart Hall Award Selection Committee
    : Hopeton Dunn
    : Graham Murdock, Usha Raman and Garry Whannel

  • Urban Communication Foundation Grant Selection Committee
    : Nico Carpentier
    Members: Susan Drucker, Gary Gumpert, Cees Hamelink, Olesya Venger and Janet Wasko

  • Climate Communication Research Fellowship Selection Committee 2019
    : Richard Doherty
    Members: Xinghua Li, Carrie P. Freeman, Emma F. Bloomfield, Hanna E. Morris